Another interview & application complete.

For the second time in a row, Mother Nature reared its ugly head when I put on my Sunday’s best and trotted up to New Haven, CT., this time for my admissions interview with Yale. Mother Nature decided to turn on the faucets and let through a mixture of rain and snow on the one day I scheduled my interview (which was sandwiched by several days of clear, blue skies). If I was fond of New Haven on an overcast day, I wonder what my feedback would’ve been like on a sunny day!

As I had already opted for the campus tour + class visits during my last visit, I decided to forgo those options this time so that I could take my time preparing and arriving on campus for my afternoon interview. The train ride up from Grand Central Terminal (and that’s Grand Central Terminal, not Station, to be technically correct) actually took 2 hours flat. For some strange reason, I thought the train ride was quicker than that, or maybe it just felt quicker last time in September because I was still out of it at 6:30AM? Or maybe I hopped on an express ride last time? Regardless, a school with a 2-hour public ride to one of the greatest cities in the world is a pretty handy option to have.

As I mentioned on the GMATClub forums, my interview started off fairly formulaic but towards the end things were a bit more loose and relaxed (probably a common wavelength for many MBA interviews). The interviewer was super friendly, and none of the questions were really anything you shouldn’t otherwise be already prepared for. He did emphasize though that the interview was only one component of the entire application picture; basically, a weak interview won’t necessarily ding you but acing the interview still doesn’t mean you’re going to get that acceptance letter! (The latter of which is kind of a bummer, since a great interview can create a lot of real positive momentum, all of which can be deflated in an instant with a ding). And yes, I am feeling somewhat of a positive wave of hopefulness. I should probably do my best to clean forget about it entirely however, as its entirely out of my hands now. No point in getting ahead and setting myself up for failure.

In other school news, I finalized my Cornell Johnson applications/essays to officially submit application #3! I am really impressed with the momentum that Cornell has had recently (the strong uptick in the BusinessWeek Business School rankings certainly didn’t hurt) and I really enjoyed their essay prompts. I’m hoping that my creativity in the Table of Contents for My Life Story shines through to the admissions committee.

Once upon a time (sometime in 2002 or 2003) I actually had visited Ithaca as part of a mini-campus tour roadtrip with my folks when I was researching undergraduate colleges. I didn’t take any pictures at that time but I simply remember snow… and that I had really enjoyed the food in the dining hall. I am, however, relatively easy to please when it comes to food (I just want large portions) so I pretty much have no recollection of the campus whatsoever. Perhaps I’ll find time to visit (or better yet, interview) in the near future.

Leave a Reply

